top of page
Buscar
  • Joana Carvalho

Prints and Mixed Media

Sometimes you end up with a collection of not so successful prints and the question arises about what to do with them. These are usually prints that still look interesting but something is missing. Luckily you can apply almost any media on top of printmaking inks - I using here Akua inks and Schmincke linoprint inks.


I tested some ideas, using the last batch of gelli prints I made and also by doing a few trace monotypes. I use different media over the prints: pens, color pencils, oil pastel, other printmaking methods, etc. An example can be seen on the left, this was done from what's called a ghost print - a second print pulled after a monotype/monoprint is done. The original print can be seen below. After it was pulled and dried I added white and black color pencil to get a better definition of my subject by increasing the contrast.


Adding a trace monotype on top of gelli prints is another idea that I tested. It is a bit more tricky since you have to be precise when placing the tracing on the correct spot of the gelli print. But for a first try I would say it was reasonably successful.


It doesn't have the same definition as when adding dry media like color pencil on top of the print, but the effect is nevertheless interesting. I feel this method offers a lot of possibilities for interesting prints. A trace monotype was used in this case, but it would also work with a monoprint/monotype.



Another test can be seen on the right, I added pen over a gelli print where I used leaves to produce the print.


I am not entirely happy about how this turned out, I feel the white strike in the middle distracts the eye. So maybe I will some watercolor on top to make it less prevalent on the print, but for now it stays like this.


Despite that, I really like how the pen applied on top of the gelli print, and the effect is quite striking. I will definitely be using this technique in the future.


On the left, I used another gelli print that I made with leaves and using a brush (to make the effect of the water), and added the fish in color pencils, it is half hidden in the leaves. This is probrably one of my favorite prints, quite enjoy the effect. The print was done using Akua inks, and these inks, when they are dry, they accept very well other media, specially dry media, like color pencils and pastels.


Talking about pastels, I made another test where I applied oil pastels on top of a transfer gelli print (see below), and that also came out interesting, I ended up actually adding some calligraphy as well.


I think it will be interesting to try more calligraphy with gelli prints. Black ink is specially easy media to apply in this case.


I feel I am at the tip of the iceberg regarding what can done by combine gelli prints (and monotypes) with other media, and some more ideas to try on, namely: re-use failed or less successful prints for paper collages, use acrylics or gouache over gelli prints, combine gelli printing with linocuts, and so much more.



Anyway let's see how the next prints turn out.

Thanks for stopping by!









0 visualização0 comentário

Posts recentes

Ver tudo
bottom of page